Over the past few months, our creative industries have shown that innovation is possible despite harrowing restrictive measures. We have seen, and will continue to see, many creative responses to isolation, and what the future of our arts scene might look like post-Covid.

In an Australian first, Sydney Symphony Orchestra and Sydney Dance Company have collaborated to create a unique online series, featuring four of Australia’s celebrated musicians and four of Australia’s leading dancers.

Each work, produced and directed by Pedro Greig, has been choreographed by Rafael Bonachela, Sydney Dance Company’s internationally acclaimed Artistic Director and filmed at the Dance Company’s Wattle Street studio (adhering to social distancing, of course). 

“It has been very challenging and frustrating for all performing artists to not be able to perform; this has been an uplifting and joyful experience as four exceptional dancers and four virtuosic musicians have come together, separately, to make this new work, a creative response to the emotional impact of the global pandemic,” said Rafael Bonachela.

Andrew Haveron, image supplied by Sydney Dance Company.

Each new episode will be available online every Friday over June. The works have all been individually conceived in response to the impact of isolation and distancing.

The first episode will be showcased on Friday, 5th June, and will feature an oboe sonata by Heinz Holliger, performed by Diana Doherty, Principal Oboe for the Sydney Symphony, and a dance performance by Charmene Yap from the Sydney Dance Company.

I love Holliger’s music. It captures so much of the strange new lockdown situation in which we all suddenly found ourselves. It seems to pose questions which keep surfacing during this time: how did we find ourselves in this extraordinary situation, how do we thrive and grow and what are our sources of comfort and support?” said Diana Doherty. 

Cuatro is an uplifting and hopeful exploration of better things to come, and an exciting reminder of our city’s creative talent. Access the episodes here.

Full Programme:

Cuatro 1
Diana Doherty, Principal Oboe, Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Charmene Yap, Sydney Dance Company
Music by: Heinz Holliger Sonata for solo oboe, I. Präludium
Available online: Friday 5 June

Cuatro 2 
Andrew Haveron, Concertmaster, Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Davide Di Giovanni, Sydney Dance Company
Music by: Niccolo Paganini 24 Caprices for Solo Violin, Op.1: No. 11 in C
Available online: Friday 12 June

Cuatro 3
Umberto Clerici, Principal Cello, Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Juliette Barton, Sydney Dance Company
Music by: J.S. Bach Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007: IV. Sarabande
Available online: Friday 19 June

Cuatro 4
Emma Sholl, Associate Principal Flute, Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Chloe Leong, Sydney Dance Company
Music by: Claude Debussy Syrinx
Available online: Friday 26 June